Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

SOLVED Possible to have widgets display on specific menu items?

• SOLVED Possible to have widgets display on specific menu items?

Posted 11 years 2 months ago
    • I am very new to Wordpress - and generally novice overall in web stuff - and I was just trying out WP themes, Gantry's default theme and framework included.

Coming from Joomla, it seems very awkward that no option is given in WP to limit the display of widgets to specific/defined menu items and views.

I have found only one, ready-made, solution - and forgive me for mentioning a competitor's product - that is Yootheme's Warp theme/framework.
      In Warp, all added widgets are displayed in an options page, where the user can choose the menu items where he/she wants to display each and every widget added to the theme.

Is there any way to achieve the same result with Gantry?
    • You can call me George
      J2.5.8, Panacea v1.6.6 - www.eks-ik.eu
      J2.5.8, Syndicate 1.6.5
    • Cliff Pfeifer
    • Preeminent Rocketeer
    • Website Developer

Re: SOLVED Possible to have widgets display on specific menu items?

• Hi, Gantry for WordPress has the override system to overcome WP's lack of control over this. It works much like the Joomla template overrides, but also creates additional widget screens.

See this thread, there is a link to documentation on the Gantry website: www.rockettheme.com/forum/index.php?f=29..._v=viewtopic#p796235
    • The difficult we do immediately, the impossible takes a little longer.
  • Re: SOLVED Possible to have widgets display on specific menu items?

• Thank you very much Cliff.

Since I made this post I have actually found some very neat plugins that let you control the visibility of widgets right from the widget area or from a separate settings page.
      - Display widgets: simple and effective
      wordpress.org/extend/plugins/display-widgets/
      - Dynamic Widgets: very powerful, highly customizable, highly recommended)