Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

A strange widget problem and general questions

• A strange widget problem and general questions

Posted 14 years 3 months ago
    • I am a newbie in wordpress and trying to understand and learn how things work here. I have trouble in understanding the concept of widgets. Because,

1. When I select widgets menu in the administration panel, I cannot see all widgets in their places although they are visible. For instance, I had dragged Meta widget to the sidebar. But now, I cannot remove it. Also, the other widgets such as Categories, Search, Tags, and Archive are visible on the site but cannot see in them in Widgets panel. So, for instance, forget about removing them, I cannot even change their position like taking from right to left or visa versa.

2. When I first started to test the software (Wordpress), I had published 4 or 5 test posts. And they were appearing just beneath the top position. I don't know how or why they are not visible now. Actually, it was looking annoying when it was only showing the posts randomly. What's the trick there ? I don't know what I did to remove them ?

3. How would it be possible to place an image just like in the demo website under the top position ?

4. I have adjusted the "Size of the post box" to 1 line. But still I cannot see a Learn More button at the bottom of each post.

Thank you very much for your support in advance.
  • Re: A strange widget problem and general questions

• Hi,

1. To remove widget you have to expand it in the sidebar and click on the button remove. Please remember that some widget positions are visible only on subpages (Over Page Menu) and some only on front page (ie. Over Main Menu). Regarding moving them, do you got your widget positions expanded (arrow on the right). If not you won't be able to place there your widget.