Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

How to add a restaurant menu to gantry 5

• Massimo

How to add a restaurant menu to gantry 5

Posted 3 years 10 months ago
    • Dear al

I am new to Gantry 5, whit the Theme: Isotope (v1.3.5 / rt_isotope) installed and running.

I would add a simple page to homepage of the web site for a restaurant menu with entries for name of the plate, description and price
      That menu is available as a excel spreadsheet, but can be converted in any form, including graphic pdf or jpg.

I did not find the way to do that from the Base Outline (nor from the Default or Home-Particles) of the backend.

Later on it would be intetesting to implement the possibility to order from the menu, as in a tipical online shop.

Can anyone give to me some help for starting?

I apologize for asking these very basic questions, but unfortunately I did not find proper documentation for my basic level.

thank yo
      mx
    • Last Edit: 3 years 10 months ago by Massimo.
    • MrT
    • Preeminent Rocketeer
    • Web Designer/Developer

Re: How to add a restaurant menu to gantry 5

• If this is going to be something that you have to maintain often then it might be worth developing your own particle for this - please refer to Gantry 5 docs the learn how. Otherwise, there may be particles in other templates that may fulfill this requirement or are adapatable to make them do so with suitable coding. There's also a particle available from inspirethemes for a "price list" https://www.inspiretheme.com/gantry5-particles . Finally, you can just use a customhtml particle on the layout and use Gantry 5 responsive grids to construct a tabular display of your items http://docs.gantry.org/gantry5/advanced/responsive-content .

Regards, Mark.
    • The following users have thanked you: Massimo