Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

SOLVED Menu items order being overridden by Gantry menu

• SOLVED Menu items order being overridden by Gantry menu

Posted 8 years 9 months ago
    • Hi, this is my first build using the new Gantry 5 framework (Callisto template) and I have just created an article, and assigned it to my menu (Callisto) by Article-Single Article. By default Joomla puts it last in the order of menu items. I drag it to the position that I want it to appear, but then I have to go to Gantry 5 Themes- Configure -Menu - Callistotheme and drag the menu item which is still appearing last, to the new position that I want it to appear in.

Why? Now when I create a menu item the standard Joomla way, I will have to come in here every time to reorder it? That doesn't seem right? Also difficult for my clients as there is another step in the process.

I have read the Gantry 5 documentation, but maybe I am missing the point, I couldn't actually find anything on 'how to create a page'. Are articles not generally used any more? I noticed that there are very few articles in the Callisto rocketlauncher build, and that menu items are pointing to Gantry5 -custom. Eg Typography page, About Us page. It seems to me that to use custom HTML modules in Gantry5 to put in the main page content (previously articles) the user will need to know HTML? This is ok for me as a developer, but not suitable for my clients who can cope with the likes of an JCE editor, but will never cope with inserting images etc via html.
      Is my only option then, in order to keep the design of the template but replacing particles with module positions, so that my clients can edit the modules and therefore have access to JCE editor with toolbar like they are used to? This will end up being more work, as I will need to change each particle to a module, and therefore I may as well use a Gantry 4 template instead.