Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

Replace your Font Awesome with my Font Awesome

• Replace your Font Awesome with my Font Awesome

Posted 10 months 3 weeks ago
    • I searched the forum for this and only found one old post from before Gantry 5 that indicated that it was planned to have a newer version of Font Awesome, but it was unclear in the answer to the poster's question whether he could replace the included Font Awesome with an expanded version that included thousands of icons.

That wasn't his exact question, but it is mine. I'm coming up short in finding the graphics I'd like to use in some of the particles that use Font Awesome (I'm currently working with Orion and and Info List particle, but this could apply to other templates as well) and would like to get them from their website and replace it with the version that you provide.

I'm not a coder, so complex coding answers won't be much help to me. But if there's a way to replace the default Font Awesome with another expanded set of icons, I'm sure a few others would like to know about it.

Thank you,
      Ernie
    • Ernie
    • Karol Orzeł
    • Elite Rocketeer
    • One Crazy Dev

Re: Replace your Font Awesome with my Font Awesome

Posted 10 months 2 weeks ago
    • Hello Ernie,

Thank you for your question.

You can indeed use a newer version of Font Awesome or even the full version. However, this requires a few manual steps as Gantry 5 includes a specific version of Font Awesome and it won't automatically update to a newer or full version.

First, download the Font Awesome kit you want to use from the Font Awesome website.

Then, upload the downloaded files to your template's "custom" directory. If it doesn't exist, you'll need to create it. The directory structure would look like this:
      /templates/rt_template_name/custom/css/
      (for CSS files)
      /templates/rt_template_name/custom/fonts/
      (for font files)