Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

Using AJAX on RocketTheme templates

• Using AJAX on RocketTheme templates

Posted 12 years 4 months ago
    • Joomla 1.7
      Radiance template

Hi

I needed my website to load the main content using AJAX and found a great plug-in to do this called Add FullAjax. http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/site-management/site-performance/13293

The problem is I can't get it to work as in the instructions it says:
      For work you must add "id" in template (index.php) where is shown component and message.
      Example:
      <div id="forajax">
      <jdoc:include type="message" />
      <jdoc:include type="component" />
      </div>

The problem is that those lines don't exist in the template's index.php file because of the gantry framework. I contacted the guy and he confirmed it doesn't work well with Gantry.

I am nowhere near being a developer I went the all of the files both in the /templates folder and the libaries/gantry folder and inserting the above div tag wherever I saw <jdoc:include type="component" /> but the menu wouldnt work at all.

Then I tried the div tag around the:
      <?php echo $gantry->displayMainbody('mainbody','sidebar','standard','standard','standard','standard','standard'); ?>
      in the template index.php file and it works to a fashion!

For some reason it seems to be loosing a lot of the divs around the content e.g. rt-main, rt-grid-12, rt-main-column, rt-block component-block etc

Without AJAX
      This image is hidden for guests.
      Please log in or register to see it.

With AJAX
      This image is hidden for guests.
      Please log in or register to see it.

The site with the AJAX on can be seen at http://www.housocial.com/new

The reason I really need AJAX on the site is because it will have a constant radio stream at the top which needs to keep playing while the pages are being viewed. I used frames on the last site and that was messy!