Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

Why can't I get anchors to work?

• Why can't I get anchors to work?

Posted 17 years 7 months ago
    • I've never tried using anchors in Joomla before, but... I go through the motions of putting in an anchor and giving it a name, but when I then try to link to it there is nothing in the "anchor" section of the "insert/edit link" box except the original three dashes!

Am I doing something amazingly stupid?

It looks obvious enough - why doesn't it work? Thinking about it, I'm sure this has nothing to do with templates or Rocket Themes, but I glanced through the Joomla forum and couldn't find anything that seemed relevant - and this seems a more lively community capable of providing answers! So sorry if this isn't the best place to ask - but if anyone has an easy answer it would be appreciated!

Frances
    • Andy Miller
    • Preeminent Rocketeer
    • Web Kahuna

Re: Why can't I get anchors to work?

• sounds like your wysiwyg editor is stripping stuff out, I don't use one myself, i just put the html in raw in the textarea and have never had a problem with anchors or any other html.
  • Re: Why can't I get anchors to work?

• Are you trying to link 'intro text' area to 'main text' area?
    • VirtueShop

• Andy - many thanks for your reply. I have tried inserting anchors straight into the HTML but can't get that to work either - although as my knowledge of HTML is extremely basic there is plenty of room for error.

For example I put in <a name="test5" title="test5">text</a> as an anchor, then use <a href="test5">...</a> to link to it from another content item and I get :

404 Not Found
      The requested URL /test5 does not exist.

Is there something I'm missing out? I was doubtful about whether something so simple would work in Joomla... The anchors don't show up in the "edit link" box if I move out of the content item I start them in.